SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
pgAdmin3 LTS - How to add this target

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
pgAdmin3 LTS - How to add this target
Author Message
michalk



Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 197

Post pgAdmin3 LTS - How to add this target Reply with quote
Hello
Usually I use pgAdmin3. Since this product is discontinued some forks has appeared to continue this product line.
One of them is pgAdmin3 LTS (https://www.openscg.com/bigsql/pgadmin3/)

Unfortunately SA doesn't work with this. I tried to add target (using CTRL+SHIFT+F5) since app itself should be very similar to original pgAdmin3 but I got a message "Unsupported window class (wxWindowClassNR)".

What is more strange, if I try CTRL+SHIFT+F5 on original pgAdmin3 (v 1.22.2) which SA is working with perfectly, I'm getting the same error message.

How can I make EA work with pgAdmin3 LTS? Is it possible?

Edit: It seems to be 64bit application (there is no asterisk next to name in process manager)

with regards
Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:49 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6717

Post Reply with quote
Unfortunately it won't work with that version and likely with feature versions too. The developed of pgAdmin tool have changed completely the internal implementation. They now use 3rd party's QT cross platform UI library that renders UI like images unlike native Windows applications that use Windows API to create windows and controls.
Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:10 pm View user's profile Send private message
michalk



Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 197

Post Reply with quote
Thanx for quick response but we are talking about different programs.
You probably meant pgAdmin4, currently officially offered as pgAdmin3 successor.
I'm talking about pgAdmin3 fork (so based on the same basecode) being developed by another developer.

Right now I suppose the problem lays in different architecture: SA is 32bit while pgAdmin3 1.23.0b is 64bit app
Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:17 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6717

Post Reply with quote
SA is actually dual 64-bit and 32-bit, so that shouldn't be an issue. I will need to check with developers on the possible cause. It might be a confirmation issue.
Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:42 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6717

Post Reply with quote
Sorry to say that but I've got sad news. Unfortunately it won't work with pgAdmin LTS. It appears there are some critical technical compatibility issues blocking integration with pgAdmin 64-bit versions, and that is actually disabled in the SQL Assistant's target application handling routine on purpose.

If pgAdmin 3 was there to stay, we would consider developing a native plugin for it, but it's getting phased out by pgAdmin 4, which is a very different thing, and which unfortunately we cannot work with. It's a just a matter of time before pgAdmin 3 gets out of scope completely.
Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:22 am View user's profile Send private message
michalk



Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 197

Post Reply with quote
Yes, it's not good news but I didn't expect some demanding development. I thought it's a matter of a small change (maybe even on my end).
It's completely reasonable that you cannot support application which is not officially developed any more.
However I can bet pgAdmin3 will remain in use for years. The reason behind it is pgAdmin4 is rather unfinished, full of issues (regardless being out for more than 2 years) and with its new architecture, is not as user friendly and efficient as its predecessor.

We (me as well great part of postgresql community) are going to stick with pgAdmin3 as long as it will work with newer versions of postgresql. pgAdmin3 LTS supports recent ones but I suspect there might be more forks. In the meantime I'm trying to pal up with SA Editor. It looks solid but some things work different way being a stopper.

Anyway, thank you for taking a look at the case. I appreciate your effort.
with regards
Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:00 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6717

Post Reply with quote
I'm happy to submit a request to implement direct integration with pgAdmin3 TLS. But unfortunately I cannot promise any quick solutions.

I also hope that we can develop SASE to a point at which you can switch to it because it does the job for you, and you would no longer need to use pgAdmin for your everyday tasks. I feel very optimistic about that happening in a foreseeable future. :-)
Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:09 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.