 |
SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
|
|
Author |
Message |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
BUG [SA 6 and 7] Column picker gets out of whack. |
|
Say I write a query like so:
Then I go to the end of bo.Bottleorder and hit ctrl+space.
So then, I hit the right arrow to select bottleorder, since that's the one I want.
Suddenly it shows me two other columns in the table that I'm currently not filtering on..
but the weird part is part of the data type (from the previous column?) ends up at the end of the column name.
You can see:
ClientID er
QuoteID 50)
If I stretch out the datatype column in the popup, it does not remedy the situation.
However, it does now give a longer pick list.. just by stretching out the data type column.
Last edited by Mindflux on Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:38 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:38 pm |
|
 |
gemisigo
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 2165
|
|
|
|
I'm unable to reproduce it. In which DBMS/editor do you experience this?
|
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:45 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
 |
 |
I'm unable to reproduce it. In which DBMS/editor do you experience this? |
SSMS 2008, Notepad++, Notepad. Doesn't matter.
Last edited by Mindflux on Wed May 29, 2013 8:17 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:45 pm |
|
 |
gemisigo
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 2165
|
|
|
|
Hmm. It might have been fixed in 6.4.199. Could you post the create script for that table, please?
|
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:47 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
 |
 |
Hmm. It might have been fixed in 6.4.199. Could you post the create script for that table, please? |
here's a screencast:
http://screencast.com/t/Lze80Eu4eg
 |
 |
CREATE TABLE [dbo].[BottleOrder](
[BottleOrder] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
[ClientID] [varchar](50) NULL,
[QuoteID] [int] NULL,
[ProjectID] [varchar](50) NULL,
[Company] [varchar](50) NULL,
[Contact] [varchar](50) NULL,
[Address] [varchar](255) NULL,
[City] [varchar](50) NULL,
[State] [varchar](50) NULL,
[Zip] [varchar](50) NULL,
[Phone] [varchar](50) NULL,
[ShipDate] [datetime] NULL,
[Shipped] [int] NULL,
[ShipMethod] [varchar](50) NULL,
[DueDate] [datetime] NULL,
[ReturnDate] [datetime] NULL,
[Made] [datetime] NULL,
[MadeBy] [varchar](50) NULL,
[Updated] [datetime] NULL,
[UpdateBy] [varchar](50) NULL,
[AutoRef] [int] NULL,
[Active] [bit] NULL,
[Comments] [varchar](255) NULL,
[ProjectName] [varchar](100) NULL,
[WSID] [varchar](50) NULL,
[BottleOrderStamp] [timestamp] NULL,
[QCLevel] [varchar](50) NULL,
[StateCode] [varchar](50) NULL,
CONSTRAINT [BottleOrder_PK] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(
[BottleOrder] ASC
)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON, FILLFACTOR = 80) ON [PRIMARY]
) ON [PRIMARY]
CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX [BottleOrder_AutoRef_idx] ON [dbo].[BottleOrder]
(
[AutoRef] ASC
)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, SORT_IN_TEMPDB = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, DROP_EXISTING = OFF, ONLINE = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON, FILLFACTOR = 80) ON [PRIMARY]
CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX [IX_BottleOrder_Shipped_021712] ON [dbo].[BottleOrder]
(
[Shipped] ASC
)
INCLUDE ( [BottleOrder],
[ClientID],
[ProjectID],
[ShipDate],
[BottleOrderStamp]) WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, SORT_IN_TEMPDB = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, DROP_EXISTING = OFF, ONLINE = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON) ON [PRIMARY]
ALTER TABLE [dbo].[BottleOrder] ADD CONSTRAINT [DF_BottleOrders_Made] DEFAULT (getdate()) FOR [Made]
ALTER TABLE [dbo].[BottleOrder] ADD CONSTRAINT [DF_BottleOrders_Active] DEFAULT ((1)) FOR [Active]
|
It does seem somewhat related to this table, I tried a couple others and ctrl+space after a column name does nothing. A few other tables seem to this too, though. If I pick another column that is NOT the index, the problem does not present itself. So if I select bo.ClientID (ctrL+space).. nothing..
|
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:48 pm |
|
 |
gemisigo
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 2165
|
|
|
|
Thanks. I checked and I was still unable to reproduce it though I did everything as it was in your screencast. I believe it's either fixed or something affecting your DB Queries.
|
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:55 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
 |
 |
Thanks. I checked and I was still unable to reproduce it though I did everything as it was in your screencast. I believe it's either fixed or something affecting your DB Queries. |
It doesn't happen on every table.. it seems to be a few tables if I use their index, but if I use a non indexed column... no problem.
*Edit: resetting everything back to default does not change this.
|
|
Wed May 29, 2013 3:56 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
I may have narrowed it down.
If you have two columns with a real similar name:
bottleOrder int
bottleorderstamp timestamp
This seems to do it.
If they aren't both named (tableprefix)(name).. like some of my others, this doesn't problem does not seem to exist.
Just as a test case, I renamed my BottleOrderStamp, to BOStamp.. and the problem is gone for that table.
I guess I'll still call this a bug.
|
|
Wed May 29, 2013 4:08 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
Bump for confirmation.
|
|
Thu May 30, 2013 11:23 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
I think what you observe there is a side effect of the name spell-checker and auto-correction feature. The auto-correct rules have been tightened in 6.4.x builds and that's why we are unable to reproduce this issue in 6.4.
To check if I'm correct, go to the Options -> DB Options tab -> SQL Assistance group -> SQL Server assistance type -> expand Spell checker on the right -> turn off Auto-correct Misspeled Names and Auto-correct misspelled qualified names. Click OK. That should do it.
|
|
Thu May 30, 2013 11:55 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
 |
 |
I think what you observe there is a side effect of the name spell-checker and auto-correction feature. The auto-correct rules have been tightened in 6.4.x builds and that's why we are unable to reproduce this issue in 6.4.
To check if I'm correct, go to the Options -> DB Options tab -> SQL Assistance group -> SQL Server assistance type -> expand Spell checker on the right -> turn off Auto-correct Misspeled Names and Auto-correct misspelled qualified names. Click OK. That should do it. |
Real time Spell Checker is disabled (set to no).. but I disabled those two options which were set to Prompt and Automatic, respectively. This did not fix the issue.
|
|
Fri May 31, 2013 9:44 am |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
I have logged a new case. Hope our developers can reproduce that issue.
|
|
Fri May 31, 2013 2:38 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
 |
 |
I have logged a new case. Hope our developers can reproduce that issue. |
If I can try the 6.4 code branch we can confirm a fix or not. Let me know if this is possible?
|
|
Fri May 31, 2013 2:46 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
Thank you. I will send you a link as soon as we have a new test build available on our server.
|
|
Sat Jun 01, 2013 5:37 pm |
|
 |
Mindflux
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 846 Country: United States |
|
|
|
This still exists in 6.4.208. Sadly :(
|
|
Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:54 am |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|