SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Running Windows 2000 backup

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite View previous topic
View next topic
Running Windows 2000 backup
Author Message
Mike Niccum



Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 33

Post Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

I am trying to run a Windows 2000 backup. We currently have this command-line in a batch file and it works great. I need to run it as another user. When I try to add it to JAL code running as another user. I can't seem to get it to run. %NASName% is a environment variable that has been defined on the server as \\nasserver\backup. Are all the double quotes causing a problem?

ntbackup backup "@d:\backup\bulist.bks" /n "Friday Rotation 1" /d "Fri1" /v:no /r:no /rs:no /hc:off /m normal /j "Fri1" /l:f /f "\\%NASName%\Fri1.bkf"

Please help....

Thanks,

Mike Niccum



Mon May 20, 2002 10:49 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7948

Post Re: Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

What's the full error message you get in the job log?

: I am trying to run a Windows 2000 backup. We currently have this command-line
: in a batch file and it works great. I need to run it as another user. When
: I try to add it to JAL code running as another user. I can't seem to get
: it to run. %NASName% is a environment variable that has been defined on
: the server as \\nasserver\backup. Are all the double quotes causing a
: problem?

: ntbackup backup "@d:\backup\bulist.bks" /n "Friday Rotation
: 1" /d "Fri1" /v:no /r:no /rs:no /hc:off /m normal /j
: "Fri1" /l:f /f "\\%NASName%\Fri1.bkf"

: Please help....

: Thanks,

: Mike Niccum

Mon May 20, 2002 11:15 am View user's profile Send private message
Mike Niccum



Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 33

Post Re: Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

Sorry about the lack of detail...

I created the job using the template "Run program or OS command as another user"

Here is what the script looks like after pasting the batch file code into the wizard:

// run command
Dim( process_id, number )
RunAsUserAndWait( "ntbackup backup \"@d:\\backup\\bulist.bks\" /n \"Friday Rotation 1\" /d \"Fri1\" /v:no /r:no /rs:no /hc:off /m normal /j \"Fri1\" /l:f /f \"\\\\%NASName%\\Fri1.bkf\"", "", 0, "ntbackup", "xxxxxx", "domain", process_id )

Obviously I have renamed the password and domain...

original code (that works in a batch file):

ntbackup backup "@d:\backup\bulist.bks" /n "Friday Rotation 1" /d "Fri1" /v:no /r:no /rs:no /hc:off /m normal /j "Fri1" /l:f /f "\\%NASName%\Fri1.bkf"

The wizard added a lot of back slashes. I have tried removing the ones that got automatically added.

The error is:

[Template: Run program or OS command a...] execution error. Exit code: -1. An error occurred while executing automation script: Line 9: Logon failed. Return code: 1314 - A required privilege is not held by the client.

The script is executing on a Windows 2000 Server Domain Controller...The user specified has the correct permission it needs to execute the backup job and has privelages to the folder...

Thanks,

Mike Niccum

: What's the full error message you get in the job log?

Mon May 20, 2002 11:24 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7948

Post Re: Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

Please restore backslashes, they are needed by the script syntax. JAL by default uses backslash as an escape symbol for scpecial ASCII characters.

I am not sure if the %NASName% will be expanded this way... mot likely not.
To have the command processor take care of %NASName%, add in front of your command cmd /b like the following "cmd /b ntbackup backup ...."

If you already have a batch file, why don't you simply run the batch by name instead of pasting the full command?

As for the "Logon failed. Return code: 1314 - A required privilege is not held by the client". The user must have "BATCH JOB" system privilege. Don't mistake this with permissions to run a particular batch file. After you grant the required privilege you will need to restart the computer.

: Sorry about the lack of detail...

: I created the job using the template "Run program or OS command as
: another user"

: Here is what the script looks like after pasting the batch file code into the
: wizard: // run command
: Dim( process_id, number )
: RunAsUserAndWait( "ntbackup backup \"@d:\\backup\\bulist.bks\"
: /n \"Friday Rotation 1\" /d \"Fri1\" /v:no /r:no
: /rs:no /hc:off /m normal /j \"Fri1\" /l:f /f
: \"\\\\%NASName%\\Fri1.bkf\"", "", 0,
: "ntbackup", "xxxxxx", "domain", process_id )

: Obviously I have renamed the password and domain...

: original code (that works in a batch file): ntbackup backup
: "@d:\backup\bulist.bks" /n "Friday Rotation 1" /d
: "Fri1" /v:no /r:no /rs:no /hc:off /m normal /j "Fri1"
: /l:f /f "\\%NASName%\Fri1.bkf"

: The wizard added a lot of back slashes. I have tried removing the ones that
: got automatically added.

: The error is: [Template: Run program or OS command a...] execution error.
: Exit code: -1. An error occurred while executing automation script: Line
: 9: Logon failed. Return code: 1314 - A required privilege is not held by
: the client.

: The script is executing on a Windows 2000 Server Domain Controller...The user
: specified has the correct permission it needs to execute the backup job
: and has privelages to the folder...

: Thanks,

: Mike Niccum

Mon May 20, 2002 11:42 am View user's profile Send private message
Mike Niccum



Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 33

Post Re: Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

I re-created the job using the template. I checked, and NTBACKUP domain account has "Log on as a batch job" User Right Assignment. I still get the same error.

Thanks,

Mike Niccum

: Please restore backslashes, they are needed by the script syntax. JAL by
: default uses backslash as an escape symbol for scpecial ASCII characters.

: I am not sure if the %NASName% will be expanded this way... mot likely not.
: To have the command processor take care of %NASName%, add in front of your
: command cmd /b like the following "cmd /b ntbackup backup ...."

: If you already have a batch file, why don't you simply run the batch by name
: instead of pasting the full command?

: As for the "Logon failed. Return code: 1314 - A required privilege is
: not held by the client". The user must have "BATCH JOB"
: system privilege. Don't mistake this with permissions to run a particular
: batch file. After you grant the required privilege you will need to
: restart the computer.

Mon May 20, 2002 3:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mike Niccum



Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 33

Post Re: Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

I have also used the domain administrator account without success...

Thanks,

Mike Niccum

: Please restore backslashes, they are needed by the script syntax. JAL by
: default uses backslash as an escape symbol for scpecial ASCII characters.

: I am not sure if the %NASName% will be expanded this way... mot likely not.
: To have the command processor take care of %NASName%, add in front of your
: command cmd /b like the following "cmd /b ntbackup backup ...."

: If you already have a batch file, why don't you simply run the batch by name
: instead of pasting the full command?

: As for the "Logon failed. Return code: 1314 - A required privilege is
: not held by the client". The user must have "BATCH JOB"
: system privilege. Don't mistake this with permissions to run a particular
: batch file. After you grant the required privilege you will need to
: restart the computer.

Mon May 20, 2002 3:12 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7948

Post Re: Running Windows 2000 backup Reply with quote

For which user? For the user who runs the job or for the user who attempts to log on as another user?

: I have also used the domain administrator account without success...

: Thanks,

: Mike Niccum

Mon May 20, 2002 3:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.