SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Remote Variables

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite View previous topic
View next topic
Remote Variables
Author Message
Greig



Joined: 15 Mar 2001
Posts: 49

Post Remote Variables Reply with quote

Now that I am able to run a job on a remote agent (see previous thread), I now have a problem when that job tries to update a global variable on the master machine. I am getting the same "connection refused" error.

I think this may be because the Master is expecting a password to be sent along with the username.

Any ideas?

Thu Jun 14, 2001 10:54 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7948

Post Re: Remote Variables Reply with quote

How do you update a global variable on the Master from the Agent?

: Now that I am able to run a job on a remote agent (see previous thread), I
: now have a problem when that job tries to update a global variable on the
: master machine. I am getting the same "connection refused"
: error.

: I think this may be because the Master is expecting a password to be sent
: along with the username.

: Any ideas?

Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:13 am View user's profile Send private message
Greig



Joined: 15 Mar 2001
Posts: 49

Post Re: Remote Variables Reply with quote

If the name of the master is DB_EDS02, then I use the following:

Dim (global.job_success, boolean)

SetRemoteVariable "DB_EDS02", global.job_success, "True"

: How do you update a global variable on the Master from the Agent?

Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:20 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7948

Post Re: Remote Variables Reply with quote

If you run 24x7 standalone on the Agent computer, can you connect from it to the Master?

: If the name of the master is DB_EDS02, then I use the following: Dim
: (global.job_success, boolean)

: SetRemoteVariable "DB_EDS02", global.job_success, "True"

Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:35 am View user's profile Send private message
Greig



Joined: 15 Mar 2001
Posts: 49

Post Re: Remote Variables Reply with quote

Yes, as long as I supply a Username and Password. If I supply only Username, then I am unable to connect (see my previous thread about Remote Security being used anyway whether it is turned on or off).

: If you run 24x7 standalone on the Agent computer, can you connect from it to
: the Master?

Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:47 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7948

Post Re: Remote Variables Reply with quote

Do you run the job manually?

It may work differenytly when it is triggered manually or runs on schedule. The internal and manual connections are slightly different. Manual connection may require the password, and the internal may be not.

There is also a workaround like the following.
// Do everything on the master
JobRemoteRun "job", "agent"
GetRemoteVariable "agent", "global.agent_variable", global.master_variable

Replace job, agent, variable names with the actual variables.
The remote job should contain logic to set "global.agent_variable" on the agent.

: Yes, as long as I supply a Username and Password. If I supply only Username,
: then I am unable to connect (see my previous thread about Remote Security
: being used anyway whether it is turned on or off).

Thu Jun 14, 2001 12:27 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.