SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
SQL Assistant Context Menu not shown in SQL Server 2012

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
SQL Assistant Context Menu not shown in SQL Server 2012
Author Message
isken.r



Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Country: Australia

Post SQL Assistant Context Menu not shown in SQL Server 2012 Reply with quote
Hi Guys,

I wonder if someone can help me out with this. For whatever reason I am not seeing the SQL Assistant menu item in the context menu when I right-click on a table for example. I remember seeing it some time ago, but I've just noticed that it has disappeared. I used it a couple of times to generate the INSERT statements for a chosen table. Did anyone else have the same issue? I have tried to re-install the latest SQL Assistant version twice to no luck. We are running SQL Server 2012 Dev edition.

Thanks in advance
Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:22 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
Hi,

SQL Assistant supports many types of SQL editors. Which one are you running? SSMS? If yes, what version and edition?
Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:37 am View user's profile Send private message
isken.r



Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
Hi, thanks for your reply.

We are using SQL Server 2012 and SQL Server 2008 developer editions. The right-click menu item appears fine on SQL Server 2008 but it does not appear in SQL Server 2012. We are also using RedGate's Source Control, could that be affecting it? But why would it affect it in SSMS 2012 and not in SSMS 2008?

By the way the rest of the SQL Assistant functions fine, i.e. intellisense and stuff. Only the SQL Assistant's menu item is not appearing on SSMS 2012 when right-clicked on a table.

Thanks
Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:39 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
The Object Navigator context menu is handled by a different add-on which is sensitive to the type and specific version of SSMS. Please take a look at SSMS Help/About box and let us know which exact version of SSMS 2012 you are using. We need to know edition name and the complete build number. Thank you.
Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:02 am View user's profile Send private message
isken.r



Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
Thanks for your response. Please see the attachment.

Thanks

Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:57 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
Is that an upgraded installation of SQL Assistant?

Try unregistering and then re-registering SQL Assistant add-on for "MS Management Studio" target in SQL Assistant's settings. See the Advanced section for that target on the Options dialog.
Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:15 pm View user's profile Send private message
isken.r



Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
I've uninstalled the SQL Assistant completely and installed it again, the latest version.

I've tried your other suggestion as well to no success. Am I the only one experiencing this problem?
Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:35 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
Weird.

Does it work if you start SSMS 2012 in Run as Administrator mode?
Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:20 pm View user's profile Send private message
isken.r



Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
I've reinstalled everything and that has fixed the problem. Thanks for your help.
Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:31 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
Thank you very much for the status update.
Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:45 am View user's profile Send private message
caryomaha



Joined: 13 Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
isken.r wrote:
I've reinstalled everything and that has fixed the problem. Thanks for your help.


Hi, I have this same problem now and same SSMS setting. Kindly can you explain what did you mean by 'reinstalling everything'? I need to this now. I reinstalled sql assistant and running both as administrator. Still not working. That's why.
Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:45 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
Have you registered the add-on for SSMS 2012?
Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:57 pm View user's profile Send private message
caseyb



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Country: Canada

Post Reply with quote
I just upgraded 6.4 -> 6.5, and all support for SSMS 2012 is gone. Uninstalling SQL Assistant and reinstalling had no effect, except for destroying all of my saved snippets. (Which is sloppy, lazy behaviour for an uninstall/reinstall cycle.)

Have you dropped support for SSMS? Or did you just not test this release at all?

To save you the effort of copy & pasting your standard reply. Yes, I toggled "Register SQL Assistant Add-on", and I am running it as adminstrator.
Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:46 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6513

Post Reply with quote
Did you do that in Run as Administrator mode?
Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:53 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.