SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Runas command doesn't launch the application

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite View previous topic
View next topic
Runas command doesn't launch the application
Author Message
gitarist



Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Post Runas command doesn't launch the application Reply with quote
Hi All,

I have a Windows 2003 Server with SP2.
On this machine I installed the role as a Terminal Server.

I downloaded the RUNAS.EXE from your site, because I want to run a specific application under an administrator account.
I created the rights for "Act as operating systme", "Create Token" and "login as batch". After setting thse permissions, I rebooted the server.

I gave the following command:
runas.exe domain\admin1 password /v "C:\windows\notead.exe"

I get the following lines returned:

Logging in as domain\admin1...
Setting user environment...
Logged in. Impersonating...
Binding new process to the user Desktop...
Starting process c:\windows\notepad.exe...
Error #0: The operation completed successfully.

But the application never started.

Is there anything I have to do more?
Or did I miss something?

Many thanks in advance
Fri Jun 18, 2010 7:00 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
The output looks good to me. Please check that Notepad.exe appears in the Task Manager. Don't assume that if it is not visible on the screen, it is not running.
Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:18 am View user's profile Send private message
gitarist



Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Post Runas command doesn't launch the application Reply with quote
I checked the Terminal Services Manager and viewed all the processes.
But there is no process running as notepad.exe.

Is there anything else, I can do or try?
Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:17 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
Please try regular Window Task Manager and on Processes tab check "Show processes from all users"
Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:33 am View user's profile Send private message
gitarist



Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Post Runas command doesn't launch the application Reply with quote
Thank you very much for the fast reply.

I did the steps mentioned by you, but unfortunately I don't see any NotePad.exe Process in the task manager.

IS there anything else that I can try?

many thanks in advance.
Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:50 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
Please try starting cmd.exe instead of notepad.exe, also try without /V switch, that requires less privileges.
Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:18 am View user's profile Send private message
gitarist



Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Post Runas command doesn't launch the application Reply with quote
On your advice, I tried the following:

I gave the following command:
runas.exe domain\admin1 password /v "C:\windows\system32\cmd.exe"

I get the following lines returned:

Logging in as domain\admin1...
Setting user environment...
Logged in. Impersonating...
Binding new process to the user Desktop...
Starting process c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe...
Error #0: The operation completed successfully.

But the application never started.

I gave the following command:
runas.exe domain\admin1 password /v "C:\windows\system32\cmd.exe"

Logging in as Domain\admin1
Error #1305: Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.

Note: User account running RunAs must be assigned "Act as part of the operation system" rights and also have "Create token" rights.
User account used to run the process must be assigned "Logon as a batch job" rights


However I set these permissions in the Default Domain Group Policy.

Is there something that I miss?
Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:46 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
Permissions are cached by the local system. You may need to restart the system after changing them on the domain.

Also, what do you get when not using /V parameter?
Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:17 am View user's profile Send private message
gitarist



Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Post Reply with quote
Sorry for my last thread, it was not posted correctly, the error message occured when I don't use the "/v".
Hereby I post it correctly.
The server has been restarted 3 or 4 times.

I gave the following command:
runas.exe domain\admin1 password /v "C:\windows\system32\cmd.exe"

I get the following lines returned:

Logging in as domain\admin1...
Setting user environment...
Logged in. Impersonating...
Binding new process to the user Desktop...
Starting process c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe...
Error #0: The operation completed successfully.

But the application never started.

I gave the following command:
runas.exe domain\admin1 password "C:\windows\system32\cmd.exe"

Logging in as Domain\admin1
Error #1305: Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.

Note: User account running RunAs must be assigned "Act as part of the operation system" rights and also have "Create token" rights.
User account used to run the process must be assigned "Logon as a batch job" rights


However I set these permissions in the Default Domain Group Policy.

Is there anything else that I miss?
Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:33 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
Error #1305: Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.


That means that "domain\admin1" doesn't have the "logon as a batch" privilege and the end of the message says "at this computer."
Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:52 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
By the way, this error comes from Windows.
Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:52 am View user's profile Send private message
hjsartori



Joined: 26 Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
I have the same problem on Windows XP Pro w/SP3. Here are my error messages (without /V):
Error #1385: Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested login type at this computer.
User account running RunAs must be assigned "Act as part of the operation
system" rights and also have "Create token" rights. User account used to run the process must be assigned "Logon as a batch job" rights.
Thanks. /Howard
Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:18 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 5214

Post Reply with quote
Did you grant the required privileges?
Did you restart your computer after the privilege change?
Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:23 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.