SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
SQL Assistant V3 Beta - Class not registered error

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
SQL Assistant V3 Beta - Class not registered error
Author Message
noonie



Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Post SQL Assistant V3 Beta - Class not registered error Reply with quote
When I register the add-in or enable the add-in for Visual Studio I receive the following error:-

===============

The Add-in 'SQL Assistant VS Add-In' failed to load or caused an exception.
Would you like to remove this Add-in?
If you choose yes, you will need to reinstall the Add-in to use it again.

Error Message: Class not registered

Error number: 80040154

===============

Removing the add-in allows VS to start without error but none of the SQL Assistant integration features are enabled.

I get the same error in SQL Server management Studio when I register the add-in.

Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Team Edition for Software Architects with
Microsoft Visual Studio Team Edition for Database Professionals Version 2.0.50727.354
Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio 9.00.3042.00
SQL Server 2005
Windows XP
.Net Framework 1.1, 2.0 and 3.0

--
Regards,
Neale NOON
Tue Nov 13, 2007 8:36 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6484

Post Reply with quote
We are still looking into this. Can you confirm that in your system after you check the "Register Add-in" option in the SQL Assistant Options and Apply this change, you don't get the required key created in the registry? For details please see http://www.softtreetech.com/support/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22002
Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:26 pm View user's profile Send private message
noonie



Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
That key is in the registry. Details below:-

SysOp wrote:
We are still looking into this. Can you confirm that in your system after you check the "Register Add-in" option in the SQL Assistant Options and Apply this change, you don't get the required key created in the registry? For details please see http://www.softtreetech.com/support/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22002


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{754CF073-05B2-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE}]
@="SqlAssist.CSqlClient"
"AppID"="{754CF073-05B2-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{754CF073-05B2-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE}\InprocServer32]
@="mscoree.dll"
"CodeBase"="C:\\Program Files\\SQL Assistant 3\\data\\SqlAssist.Sms.dll"
"Assembly"="SqlAssist.Sms, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
"Class"="SqlAssist.CSqlClient"
"RuntimeVersion"="v2.0.50727"
"ThreadingModel"="Both"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{754CF073-05B2-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE}\ProgId]
@="SqlAssist.CSqlClient"

--
Regards,
Neale NOON
Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:00 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6484

Post Reply with quote
This looks ok. What we found out so far that people who got the following stuff

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{754CF073-05B3-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE}\InprocServer32]
@="mscoree.dll"
"CodeBase"="C:\\Program Files\\SQL Assistant 3\\data\\SqlAssist.Sms.DLL"
"Assembly"="SqlAssist.Sms, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
"Class"="SqlAssist.CSmsAddin"
"RuntimeVersion"="v3.0.50727"
"ThreadingModel"="Both"


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{754CF073-05B3-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE}\InprocServer32\1.0.0.0]
"Class"="SqlAssist.CSmsAddin"
"Assembly"="SqlAssist.Sms, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
"RuntimeVersion"="v3.0.50727"
"CodeBase"="C:\\Program Files\\SQL Assistant 3\\data\\SqlAssist.Sms.DLL"

After changing "v3.0.50727" to "v2.0.50727" could get it loaded and working without any issues
Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:27 pm View user's profile Send private message
kenpem



Joined: 19 Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Country: United Kingdom

Post Reply with quote
I had a similar error immediately after installing when starting SQL Management Studio for the first time. I rebooted, and haven't seen the error since.
Mon Nov 19, 2007 8:25 am View user's profile Send private message
noonie



Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Post SQL Assistant V3 Beta - Class not registered error Reply with quote
Was going to download the latest update mentioned in "SQL Assistant v3 versions and updates info" (post 22026).

My emailled download link has expired.

Do I need to re-register to access the update?
Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:58 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6484

Post Reply with quote
Please use the download link available on the product page http://www.softtreetech.com/sqlassist/index.htm. A new link will be emailed to you.
Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:06 am View user's profile Send private message
noonie



Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Post SQL Assistant V3 Beta - Class not registered error (Fixed) Reply with quote
Thanks.

Uninstalled previous version and installed latest Beta 3 update and error message has gone away!

Now to see if it properly integrates with VSTE for DBPros.
Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:06 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.