SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
SSMS 17.7/SQL Assistant 9.5.469 popup corruption

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
SSMS 17.7/SQL Assistant 9.5.469 popup corruption
Author Message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post SSMS 17.7/SQL Assistant 9.5.469 popup corruption Reply with quote
This doesn't appear to apply to SQL Editor, but when I type something like

Where [column] = and I scroll into the functions I get a lot of 'descriptions' that are in some Chinese character.

screen shot:

https://i.imgur.com/ep9LtFt.png


Last edited by Mindflux on Tue May 15, 2018 3:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Tue May 15, 2018 2:29 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Ok, a SSMS restart fixed it, but then I changed a database explorer option (show extended set of objects) to no and when i went back in and typed a where it had chinese characters again.

If I smash F5 while the popup is in place it seems to fix that.
Tue May 15, 2018 2:33 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Video:

https://www.screencast.com/t/hSHpbDvq

So you can see I change an option, get chinese characters and then I hit F5 and it 'fixes' the popup character issue.

Maybe some sort of memory corruption when changing sql assistant options?


*Edit:it is also not limited to Database Explorer settings. If I change some autocomplete settings it'll do it too.
Tue May 15, 2018 2:38 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Here's a video with some even more 'extended' corruption:


https://www.screencast.com/t/RC00MbYU


Now it seems the descriptions are showing all sorts of 'behind the scenes' type code.
Tue May 15, 2018 2:44 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1476

Post Reply with quote
Nice. I guess that could be classified as easter(n) egg :)
Wed May 16, 2018 6:39 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
gemisigo wrote:
Nice. I guess that could be classified as easter(n) egg :)


I hope itís reproducable and fixable 👍
Wed May 16, 2018 7:45 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
We were able to reproduce this issue. It's a bug in the code applying changes in the options to target SSMS environment. A fix is expected in the next release.
Wed May 16, 2018 8:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.