Author |
Message |
Alextp
Joined: 13 Jun 2014 Posts: 22 Country: Russian Federation |
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:17 am |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
I'm not sure I understand the requested feature. Can you provide a SQL specific example instead of generic text paragraph?
By the way, that SQL Assistant does auto-indenting for you based on SQL keyword anchors? for example, if you enter
 |
 |
-- ... some code here ...
-- here comes an indented line
SELECT blah...blah ... here you press Enter key and type keyword FROM
FROM -- FROM appears indented to align with the SELECT. It works similarly for other keywords, column names and other elements as defined in code formatting rules in the Options.
WHERE -- where is aligned too |
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:30 am |
|
 |
Alextp
Joined: 13 Jun 2014 Posts: 22 Country: Russian Federation |
|
|
|
Sql example:
 |
 |
procedure NNNNNN -- some procedure beginning, like in Oracle
select ............................................................................................... from .............................................................. where .............................................. and ................... group by ................................
select ............................................................................................... from .............................................................. where .............................................. and ................... group by ................................
|
These are 3 lines. Editor shld display wrapped parts (of lines 2/3) with indent, 10 spaces.
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:36 am |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
Sql example:
 |
 |
procedure NNNNNN -- some procedure beginning, like in Oracle
select ............................................................................................... from .............................................................. where .............................................. and ................... group by ................................
select ............................................................................................... from .............................................................. where .............................................. and ................... group by ................................
|
These are 3 lines. Editor shld display wrapped parts (of lines 2/3) with indent, 10 spaces. |
Something is not working for you there. I see a number of issues there, including code auto-formatting not working. Which database type are you connected to? which SQL Assistance type is selected in Options for that type? Are you using factory default options or custom?
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:55 am |
|
 |
Alextp
Joined: 13 Jun 2014 Posts: 22 Country: Russian Federation |
|
|
|
- I not connected yet, offline
- I chosen "Code formatting style: None" to not kill leading spaces
- now I enter text, with leading spaces, long lines, and get:

|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:04 pm |
|
 |
Alextp
Joined: 13 Jun 2014 Posts: 22 Country: Russian Federation |
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:06 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
For that to work with MS Assess you need to choose Code Assistant and some Formatting style in the Options, I recommend using T-SQL style as the closest.
MS Access is not a good test case. Please try this feature with other more advanced database servers.
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:14 pm |
|
 |
Alextp
Joined: 13 Jun 2014 Posts: 22 Country: Russian Federation |
|
|
|
"Formatting style" I need None, because i don't want to auto format text, I want it as I type, with leading spaces. And my wish allows to show my not formatted text - nice
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:22 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
"Formatting style" I need None, because i don't want to auto format text, I want it as I type, with leading spaces. And my wish allows to show my not formatted text - nice |
But this disabled the auto-indenting feature which is part of the code formatting. Unfortunately you cannot have it disabled and still working for auto-indenting only.
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:41 pm |
|
 |
Alextp
Joined: 13 Jun 2014 Posts: 22 Country: Russian Federation |
|
|
|
 |
 |
But this disabled the auto-indenting feature |
No, I checked "Auto-indent" in Editor op dialog, and it works OK here, even W/out "Code formatter" enabled
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:54 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
Glad you found s workaround.
Just in case, that one is not SQL syntax related. As compared to the SQL syntax based indenting, it won't indent joins, logical operators, sub-queries, etc... so you will need to type more, not less when code formatting is enabled.
|
|
Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:26 pm |
|
 |
|