SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
SSMS Connection

Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
SSMS Connection
Richardsonke

Post SSMS Connection Reply with quote
Hello,

I'm new to SQL Assistant and I have a quick question. Whenever I open a new SQL Server Management Studio window and start typing, it requests the connection information to the SQL Server. I use multiple SQL servers in different SSMS windows and this gets really annoying because it pops up in the middle of my typing. According to the manual:

Quote:
When working with SQL Server Management Studio or SQL Server Management Studio Express that use SMO
connections, SQL Assistant silently intercepts the existing connection and uses that connection to access SQL
Server catalog tables and views.

From what I understand from this, it should automatically use the existing connection. Is there something that I'm missing?

Also, a small feature request. It would be really nice if the table data preview/sql code execute interface could automatically sort by clicking on a column header. This feature is in a competing product that I'm comparing yours too, and I sorely miss it.

Thanks for your help.

-Keith
Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:22 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin

Post Reply with quote
Which version of SQL Assistant are you running? which version of SSMS?
Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:25 pm View user's profile Send private message
Richardsonke

Post Reply with quote
I'm sorry, I meant to put that in the first post, but somehow I forgot. SQL Assistant version 3.5.30. SSMS 2005 9.00.3042.00. I believe I have SP2 installed. Thanks.

-Keith
Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:43 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin

Post Reply with quote
Are you using Windows Vista by any chance?