SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
FR: option to make Auto-filter on by default

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
FR: option to make Auto-filter on by default
Author Message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2112

Post FR: option to make Auto-filter on by default Reply with quote
Auto-filter is a tremendous help when I refine a result further based on arbitrary conditions. It is also not turned on by default on a new result pane and while refreshing the current result set leaves it turned on, any new result pane will have it disabled. Are there any drawbacks to that feature? Could you provide an option to turn it on by default? Also, the Session Monitor lacks the button to turn the Auto-filter on (though it can be done using the context menu).

I might also have found an undocumented part that makes the use of Auto-filter a tiny bit faster when there is a vast number of different values in a column (the dialog for the custom filter is a little bit slow). When opening the drop-down for a column, click All (to toggle the values), and then start typing the value you're looking for. The drop-down will narrow the list and you can select the values you want to see. Or not to see. Check this short video here.
Fri Sep 16, 2022 9:47 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7857

Post Reply with quote
thank you for the tip. I believe you don't need to click All to start filtering. You can start typing immediately to filter the list, it's kind of similar to SQL Intellisense popups
Fri Sep 16, 2022 3:42 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2112

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
thank you for the tip. I believe you don't need to click All to start filtering. You can start typing immediately to filter the list, it's kind of similar to SQL Intellisense popups

No, you don't have to, you can start filtering right away, but that's the "or not to see" part. If you click All and then start the filter, you're filtering on what you want to see, because everything that remains in the filter will be displayed when clicked on it (or on All again). On the other hand, if you start filtering without clicking All first, then you're filtering on what you don't want to see because now clicking those (or All, again) will hide their rows. Anyway, for simple filtering this is much faster than the Custom filter. Great feature, thanks!


Last edited by gemisigo on Mon Sep 19, 2022 8:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Fri Sep 16, 2022 5:24 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7857

Post Reply with quote
Got it. Thank you for the explanation.
Mon Sep 19, 2022 8:14 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.