SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
SA 12 Feature Request using "Copy to editor" func

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
SA 12 Feature Request using "Copy to editor" func
Author Message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 833
Country: United States

Post SA 12 Feature Request using "Copy to editor" func Reply with quote
When using the code "hyperlink" when hovering over a stored proc; you get the stored proc in a tabbed window below. Using the "copy to editor" function is great to pull this into the editor.

However:
"CREATE PROCEDURE [bar]" is still in the code at the top. Can we somehow programmatically change this to "ALTER PROCEDURE" or if the SQL Server version is above 2016 SP1 "CREATE OR ALTER PROCEDURE"?

Often times I forget to change this myself and get an error executing the code or worse yet miss the error and try and use the front end with the new procedure code and not get the expected result...

both of these mostly because I'm an idiot.
Mon Jun 06, 2022 1:58 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7883

Post Reply with quote
That method is more suited for code preview. But if you click the name-hyperlink in the top left corner, it will open the properties dialog where code can be edited and that dialog provides for some types of of procedural objects Open in Editor button to open the code for editing in an editor tab.
Mon Jun 06, 2022 4:40 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 833
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Brilliant.... so obvious I missed it.

Like I said, I'm an idiot.
Mon Jun 06, 2022 6:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2119

Post Reply with quote
If this is the Code "hyperlink" you're referring to,



there should be another one next to it named Edit, which should open a brand new tab for editing that particular stored procedure with ALTER (or DROP and CREATE where ALTER is insufficient).

Check this short video here.
Tue Jun 07, 2022 6:21 am View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 833
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
gemisigo wrote:
If this is the Code "hyperlink" you're referring to,



there should be another one next to it named Edit, which should open a brand new tab for editing that particular stored procedure with ALTER (or DROP and CREATE where ALTER is insufficient).

Check this short video here.



Yes that works too. I'm banging my head against the wall now.
Tue Jun 07, 2022 10:35 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.