SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Tables and aliases

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
Tables and aliases
Author Message
maxpesola



Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 51

Post Tables and aliases Reply with quote
With sql server 2005, when i use a table's alias with the word "AS" like this:
- tablename AS aliasname
sqla 6.0.33 no longer recognizes the columns without the aliasname before, if pass the mouse over it does not display the pop-up detail, but if i remove the word "AS" like this:
- tablename aliasname
it resume operation.


Last edited by maxpesola on Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:18 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2109

Post [SA 6 Beta] - No hover-over info for subquery columns Reply with quote
It does work for me. However, it does not for columns sq.id_table2 and sq.valami_mas when selecting from a subquery joined to a table like this:
Code:

SELECT
   t1.id_table1
   ,t1.valami
   ,sq.id_table2
   ,sq.valami_mas
FROM
   dbo.table1 AS t1
   INNER JOIN
   (
      SELECT
         t2.id_table2
         ,t2.valami_mas
         ,t2.id_table1
      FROM
         dbo.table2 AS t2
   ) AS sq
      ON   sq.id_table1 = t1.id_table1

Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:49 am View user's profile Send private message
maxpesola



Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 51

Post Re: [SA 6 Beta] - No hover-over info for subquery columns Reply with quote
Try to not use the alias before the columnname in a simple query like this:
Quote:
SELECT * FROM tablename AS b
WHERE columname=1

The columname does not have the popup.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:13 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2109

Post Reply with quote
I've misread that you were not using the aliasname.columname format, sorry. It really does not work when omitting the alias name. When joining tables and selecting (wherring:) columns that are present in some of the tables with the same name, that column name would be ambiguous, but then again, it could work with simple queries.

The hover-over popup for subquery columns does not work at all, regardless of the alias name and/or the AS keyword being present or not. The popup that shows when typing the names does contain the info, though.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:34 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7849

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
With sql server 2005, when i use a table's alias with the word "AS" like this:
- tablename AS aliasname
sqla 6.0.33 no longer recognizes the columns without the aliasname before, if pass the mouse over it does not display the pop-up detail, but if i remove the word "AS" like this:
- tablename aliasname
it resume operation.


Thank you very much for your feedback. I have logged this bug to your tracking system, ticket #SA0014915
Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:09 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7849

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
No hover-over info for subquery columns


In the current version, SQL Assistant is able to figure out column names from a subquery, but doesn't know their data types. For regular table and view columns it queries system catalog tables (see Columns query in the Options, on DB queries tab). For subquery based columns that method doesn't work and that's why data type hint is not displayed on mouse over subquery columns.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:13 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2109

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
Quote:
No hover-over info for subquery columns


In the current version, SQL Assistant is able to figure out column names from a subquery, but doesn't know their data types. For regular table and view columns it queries system catalog tables (see Columns query in the Options, on DB queries tab). For subquery based columns that method doesn't work and that's why data type hint is not displayed on mouse over subquery columns.


What about the info shown in the popup for selecting the columns? Where does it come from? Though there are no indication about keys or uniqueness, the popup clearly shows types for columns from sq subquery.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:27 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7849

Post Reply with quote
That's a good question, which I'm unable to asnwer. I will have to forward your questions to our develeopment team.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:45 am View user's profile Send private message
maxpesola



Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 51

Post Reply with quote
Also , if i add the WITH(NOLOCK) after the tablename the popup of colums does not work, like this simple query:
Quote:
SELECT * FROM tablename b WITH(NOLOCK)
WHERE b.columname=1

Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:02 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 7849

Post Reply with quote
Thank you. I have logged that too.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:42 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 2109

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
That's a good question, which I'm unable to asnwer. I will have to forward your questions to our develeopment team.

Thank you very much.
Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:19 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.