 |
SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
|
|
Author |
Message |
jeff33190
Joined: 22 Aug 2007 Posts: 96
|
|
Run Job without Displaying Password |
|
I am trying to run an application through the 24x7 scheduler using the following JAL script:
DIM sts, number
Run( "application.exe password", "D:\\software\\bin\\", sts )
The problem is, it then displays the application password in the title bar of the running window. Is there a way to avoid this. I realize I could put the commands in a batch file and run them, however then the 24x7 job doesn't think it is finished as long as the application is running. I would prefer the 24x7 job started the application and then ended, leaving the application running in the foreground.
Thanks!
|
|
Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:02 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
How about "cmd /C application.exe password", does it still show the password?
What kind of program is application.exe? console application, Win16, Win32?
|
|
Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:35 am |
|
 |
jeff33190
Joined: 22 Aug 2007 Posts: 96
|
|
|
|
Basically that had the same result, showing the password in the title bar. I know the application is not Win16, I assume it is Win32. Not sure what console application is.
Thanks,
Jeff[/quote]
|
|
Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:03 am |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
I am not sure anymore in which window you see the password. Can you make a screenshot and edit it wiping out the password area? At least we can see where it is displayed and help you to hide it.
To insert an image into post use Img shortcut displayed above the message body field.
|
|
Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:16 pm |
|
 |
jeff33190
Joined: 22 Aug 2007 Posts: 96
|
|
|
|
Below is a screenshot (temporary is the password):
[/img]
|
|
Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:52 pm |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
Ok, now I see that you are running a DOS console application, not a Windows application. The simplest method is to create a generic "driver" batch file with the contents like below
 |
 |
TTILE "%2"
cmd /C "%1" |
Then you schedule the job, put the following into the command line (this is a template)
 |
 |
driver.bat "This is the command line I want to run" "This is the title I want to set" |
Example: driver.bat "essbase.exe temporary" "24x7 Running ESSBASE"
|
|
Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:32 pm |
|
 |
jeff33190
Joined: 22 Aug 2007 Posts: 96
|
|
|
|
Thanks, that will work!
|
|
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:41 am |
|
 |
SysOp
Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2006 Posts: 7948
|
|
|
|
Sorry for small typo error, instead of TTILE I of course meant to put TITLE
|
|
Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:37 pm |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|