SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
[SA 9.0.166 Pro] Result set column sizing

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
[SA 9.0.166 Pro] Result set column sizing
Author Message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1529
Country: Hungary

Post Reply with quote
Good idea. It could also have a context menu item that would switch auto-sizing of width between max(column name, widest column value) and width for widest value only.

Why the vertical setup?
Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:50 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 648
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
gemisigo wrote:


Why the vertical setup?


Paperless office solution. Much easier to read PDF's in a vertical mode.
Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:03 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1529
Country: Hungary

Post Reply with quote
Good point. How many displays do you have? Are they all set to vertical?
Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:34 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 648
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
gemisigo wrote:
Good point. How many displays do you have. Are they all set to vertical?


Two. One horizontal and one vertical. That way I can browse the web and do stuff in our other apps in house on a 'normal' screen and then our paperless stuff (and for me coding and other database management etc) in the vertical screen.

I should probably have another horizontal just for code and stuff but ... gotta work with what I have.
Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:36 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6855

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
Is there any way to have the resulting column widths auto-size themselves to the widest returned value for that column

You can double-click column header's right edge and it should resize the width to fit the values just like in Excel.
Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:39 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1529
Country: Hungary

Post Reply with quote
Could you implement a more elegant/convenient way to do this, please? It becomes irksome having to do this to dozens of columns after each execution. I'm wasting minutes just on this action every day (and I'm afraid to calculate a sum of it on monthly level). Adding some settings to SqlAssist.ini file that could control if this would auto-size to shortest/longest value or column name or some average or to fit screen width or whatsoever would be a welcome.
Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:33 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.