SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
[SA 9.0.176 Pro] SCS Compare does not find all differences?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
[SA 9.0.176 Pro] SCS Compare does not find all differences?
Author Message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post [SA 9.0.176 Pro] SCS Compare does not find all differences? Reply with quote


I prefer using Beyond Compare but when I right click my repository and do "compare repository to database" it doesn't launch Beyond Compare, but also the SQL Assistant compare window didn't pick up the new column I added (for testing the other Workspace post I made about changed/unchanged files always being red?)


Last edited by Mindflux on Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:32 am; edited 1 time in total
Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:22 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
I have submitted this issue for further investigation
Tue Oct 11, 2016 2:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
I have submitted this issue for further investigation


Ok, Please also add that it does not launch a third party compare tool even if set to do so in the options.
Tue Oct 11, 2016 2:23 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
I already did.
Tue Oct 11, 2016 2:45 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
I already did.


Thanks!
Tue Oct 11, 2016 2:45 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Also "show differences" right click from the database explorer doesn't invoke the external compare tool either.

But "show differences" on the left pane (Workspace) does invoke the external compare tool.
Tue Oct 11, 2016 3:37 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
Mindflux wrote:
Also "show differences" right click from the database explorer doesn't invoke the external compare tool either.

But "show differences" on the left pane (Workspace) does invoke the external compare tool.


Thank you. This is very valuable information
Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:15 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
This seems to invoke BC now so that's fixed.

HOWEVER: Using the SQL Assistant compare tool still doesn't catch the differences.


Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:23 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
In your SQL Assistant options in Source Control tab -> SCS Settings -> External Compare Tool option please replace "Beyond Compare" with full path to the executable file. Does that help?
Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:52 am View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
In your SQL Assistant options in Source Control tab -> SCS Settings -> External Compare Tool option please replace "Beyond Compare" with full path to the executable file. Does that help?


Using BC finds the differences, the bug here was that the SQL Assistance compare tool doesn't find them all. You can see my working copy has a [stamp] column that I added to test the compare tool. So I guess the bug here is the comparison tool SQL Assistance uses isn't accurate... which is why I am using BC.
Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:54 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
I logged the issue with internal compare tool not finding the differences under #SA0029784 number. Our developers reviewed your screenshots demonstrating the issue, but so far they say they are unable to reproduce it. May I ask you to save and email a couple of files with differences ignored to the support account for further analysis? What we need is files from your SQL Assistant SCS workspace and files created from the code stored in SCS repository. For the latest can you please use an external tool to save them somewhere else? If you use SQL Assistant, it would overwrite files in the repository.
Tue Nov 01, 2016 8:24 am View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
I logged the issue with internal compare tool not finding the differences under #SA0029784 number. Our developers reviewed your screenshots demonstrating the issue, but so far they say they are unable to reproduce it. May I ask you to save and email a couple of files with differences ignored to the support account for further analysis? What we need is files from your SQL Assistant SCS workspace and files created from the code stored in SCS repository. For the latest can you please use an external tool to save them somewhere else? If you use SQL Assistant, it would overwrite files in the repository.


Email and files sent.
Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:02 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
This bug has been confirmed and reproduced. It's specific to 64-bit version of SQL Assistant SQL Editor, and it's going to be fixed soon.
Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:01 am View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 613
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
This seems like the second or third bug recently that only impacts 64 bit SQL Editor. What is it about the bit-ness of the editor that makes these crop up?
Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:47 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
That's a good question. To the best of my knowledge a large portion of the code has been converted from the 32-bit version originally developed for 32-bit environments. There have been also many changes done specific to 64-version to support 64-bit database drivers and such. I think in a few places like Git interface the converted code isn't fully compatible with 64-bit environments, I mean native 64-bit code running on 64-bit systems, not 32-bit on 64-bit. The overall extensive testing we've done and the following beta haven't reveled some issues. My feeling based on the continuing decrease in the volume of issues reported weekly is that most of the issues have been taken care of, but there are few remaining issues and we are trying to address them as quickly as they are discovered. It's of course possible that something else might be found.
Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.