SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
One scheduler instance, some jobs run twice
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite View previous topic
View next topic
One scheduler instance, some jobs run twice
Author Message
svarjavand



Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Country: Australia

Post One scheduler instance, some jobs run twice Reply with quote
We are using 24x7 in graphical mode. We can see only one javaw.exe in task manager when listing processes from all users.
Still some jobs are run twice seconds apart.
For example, one job is scheduled to run every hour. At 2:00 it ran only once. At 3:00 and 4:00 it ran twice each time. Again at 5:00 it ran only once. No specific pattern.
It was set as an asynchronous job. Read the forum and tried it as synchronous job, still runs twice.
Now I have set the property to only run one instance of the job and do nothing if there is another instance in the queue and here is the log:
16-Jun-2014 05:00:00 PM 2 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 89 JOB_A Job started.
16-Jun-2014 05:00:00 PM 2 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 95 Job_B Job started.
16-Jun-2014 05:00:00 PM 2 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 2 Job_C Job started.
16-Jun-2014 05:00:01 PM 2 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 62 Job_D Job started.
16-Jun-2014 05:00:01 PM 2 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 61 Job_E Job started.
16-Jun-2014 05:00:01 PM 1 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 89 JOB_A An instance of job "JOB_A" is already running or queued. Job settings do not allow adding more instances.
16-Jun-2014 05:00:02 PM 2 lZTQDB0IurGyQU7VObRKXo6uwbE= 2 JOB_C Job started.

JOB_A and JOB_C ran twice!

Any idea what is the problem with my scheduler?
I'm using version V5.1 Build 402
Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:33 pm View user's profile Send private message
barefootguru



Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 195

Post Reply with quote
It's not mentioned in this forum but we're running 5.1.403. I remember some scheduling issues in the previous version.

Having said that, every month or so the queues in this version get stuck so jobs pile up, so about to try the 4.2 series.
Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:13 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
Still some jobs are run twice seconds apart


How often do you see this happening? Every day? Same time or random times?
Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:38 pm View user's profile Send private message
svarjavand



Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
It happens every day but not on same times. Yesterday it ran twice at 7:00 and 10:00 only. Today it ran twice at 7:00 and 8:00.
Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:42 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Is it always on a hour? Is this issue recurring for just one job or multiple jobs?
Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:11 am View user's profile Send private message
svarjavand



Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
It is happening for multiple jobs.
For example one is scheduled to run every hour, another one is scheduled to run at 9:10, 9:40, ..., 4:10, 4:40.
Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:15 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Do you have 2 instances of the scheduler running concurrently by any chance? For example one running as a service or daemon process and another one started by someone in GUI mode using remote session or something?
Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:21 am View user's profile Send private message
barefootguru



Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 195

Post Reply with quote
I'm now seeing this under 5.2.417. Here we have 2 fast jobs which are scheduled to run every 15 minutes:

Code:

20-Jun-2014 08:30:00 AM 2       O2MfZQ+yPxYL/FuwWawsTALECuI=    827     Management Misc WMITracker      Job started.
20-Jun-2014 08:30:01 AM 1       O2MfZQ+yPxYL/FuwWawsTALECuI=    827     Management Misc WMITracker      An instance of job "Management Misc WMITracker" is already running or queued. Job settings do not allow adding more instances.
20-Jun-2014 08:30:01 AM 1       O2MfZQ+yPxYL/FuwWawsTALECuI=    565     Management Misc ScratchTracker  An instance of job "Management Misc ScratchTracker" is already running or queued. Job settings do not allow adding more instances.
20-Jun-2014 08:30:03 AM 2       O2MfZQ+yPxYL/FuwWawsTALECuI=    827     Management Misc WMITracker      Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
20-Jun-2014 08:30:03 AM 2       O2MfZQ+yPxYL/FuwWawsTALECuI=    565     Management Misc ScratchTracker  Job started.
20-Jun-2014 08:30:05 AM 2       O2MfZQ+yPxYL/FuwWawsTALECuI=    565     Management Misc ScratchTracker  Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.

Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:29 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
But it is not running them twice?
Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
barefootguru



Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 195

Post Reply with quote
Correct, so maybe only bogus warning message.
Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:38 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
They don't look bogus to me, it's just that the queue controls stop the job from running multiple instances concurrently. Does this issue affect all jobs? Do you see any pattern there?
Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
svarjavand



Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
Do you have 2 instances of the scheduler running concurrently by any chance?


No as I mentioned in my original question we are only running one instance in graphical mode.

How do you explain the random behavior if we were running two instances?
Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:40 pm View user's profile Send private message
svarjavand



Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
They don't look bogus to me


Why is the scheduler triggering the job twice in first place? It first triggers the job seconds apart from the first trigger then stops it because only one instance is allowed. I don't get why two triggers?[/quote]
Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:44 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Don't know that. Something is causing that. If I knew the answer or it was obvious, I wouldn't ask you all these questions. Let's try figuring out the root cause.
is there a way to monitor system performance using performance monitor or other utility to find out if duplicate job runs align with high CPU usage? How many CPU cores do you have on that system?
Thu Jun 19, 2014 7:19 pm View user's profile Send private message
svarjavand



Joined: 16 Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Country: Australia

Post Reply with quote
We only have one CPU on that server.

It has 90%-100% cpu usage at the time of multiple runs, which I assume is reasonable as there are at least 3 jobs starting to run at that time. They will all increase CPU usage.
Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:45 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.