SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
DB Audit / No databases to choose

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » DB Audit, DB Mail, DB Tools View previous topic
View next topic
DB Audit / No databases to choose
Author Message
Gino Pilotino



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 5

Post DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

I'm using SQL Server, after connect the database combo is empty.



Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:57 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

Just type in the name of your SQL Server computer (or IP number)

: I'm using SQL Server, after connect the database combo is empty.

Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:32 pm View user's profile Send private message
Gino Pilotino



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 5

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

: Just type in the name of your SQL Server computer (or IP number)
Sorry, It's doesn't work.
DB Audit is in the same machine as the SQL Server (W2K Server)
I've tried using ODBC with the same results.
I use Windows Authentication, the "sa" has no password.
Also I created a new login with SQL Authentication but the database combo is still empty.
Clicking on Triggers, only the tables on the default database are shown.
If I try to create the triggers, DB Audit ask me for the repository, but the dialog has nothing to choose.
Thank for your help.

Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:11 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

1. To connect to SQL Server running on your machine enter "(local)" without quotes or your machine name, or LocalHost or 127.0.01 or your network TCP/IP address or whatever else pointing to address of your machine.
The reason drop-down box maybe empty could be that you have a firewall or anti-virus installed on your computer and configured not to allow programs on your computer to send net broadcasts and then scan network addresses and ports

Anyway, if it doesn't work, how then did you get to the triggers part?

2. To pick tables from a different database use Database drop-down box available on the DB Audit toolbar (just below the menu bar).

: Sorry, It's doesn't work.
: DB Audit is in the same machine as the SQL Server (W2K Server)
: I've tried using ODBC with the same results.
: I use Windows Authentication, the "sa" has no password.
: Also I created a new login with SQL Authentication but the database combo is
: still empty.
: Clicking on Triggers, only the tables on the default database are shown.
: If I try to create the triggers, DB Audit ask me for the repository, but the
: dialog has nothing to choose.
: Thank for your help.

Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:12 pm View user's profile Send private message
Gino Pilotino



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 5

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

: 1. To connect to SQL Server running on your machine enter "(local)"
: without quotes or your machine name, or LocalHost or 127.0.01 or your
: network TCP/IP address or whatever else pointing to address of your
: machine.
: The reason drop-down box maybe empty could be that you have a firewall or
: anti-virus installed on your computer and configured not to allow programs
: on your computer to send net broadcasts and then scan network addresses
: and ports

: Anyway, if it doesn't work, how then did you get to the triggers part?

: 2. To pick tables from a different database use Database drop-down box
: available on the DB Audit toolbar (just below the menu bar).

There's no antivirus or firewall.
I DO connect to the database, so the triggers button is enabled.
The Database drop-down box is enabled but empty.
I found this on the db_audit.err file:

*** 09/12/2004 00:15:50

User: Audit

Server: 127.0.0.1

Database: master

DBCode: 515

SQLCode: -1

SQLErrText: Select error: Cannot insert the value NULL into column '', table ''; column does not allow nulls. INSERT fails.

SQL: 1 execute dbo.sp_helpdb;1

Thank you again.

Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:22 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

If you connect as sa can you see database names in the drop-down box. If sa has no password please leave the password field empty.

: There's no antivirus or firewall.
: I DO connect to the database, so the triggers button is enabled.
: The Database drop-down box is enabled but empty.
: I found this on the db_audit.err file: *** 09/12/2004 00:15:50

: User: Audit

: Server: 127.0.0.1

: Database: master

: DBCode: 515

: SQLCode: -1

: SQLErrText: Select error: Cannot insert the value NULL into column '', table
: ''; column does not allow nulls. INSERT fails.

: SQL: 1 execute dbo.sp_helpdb;1

: Thank you again.

Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:31 pm View user's profile Send private message
Gino Pilotino



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 5

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

: If you connect as sa can you see database names in the drop-down box. If sa
: has no password please leave the password field empty.

No luck with sa...

*** 09/12/2004 07:21:30

User: sa

Server: 127.0.0.1

Database: master

DBCode: 515

SQLCode: -1

SQLErrText: Select error: Cannot insert the value NULL into column '', table ''; column does not allow nulls. INSERT fails.

SQL: 1 execute dbo.sp_helpdb;1

Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:22 am View user's profile Send private message
Gino Pilotino



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 5

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

I've re-installed SQL Server, this time with mixed authenticaton mode, and now DB Audit works!

Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:29 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

Ok. Thank you for the status update

: I've re-installed SQL Server, this time with mixed authenticaton mode, and
: now DB Audit works!

Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:02 am View user's profile Send private message
Andrew



Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 4

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

We found the issue was with sp_helpdb.
If you ensure all the DB owners are correct the issue
should be resolved without having to re install SQL

Cheers

/***********
: 1. To connect to SQL Server running on your machine enter "(local)"
: without quotes or your machine name, or LocalHost or 127.0.01 or your
: network TCP/IP address or whatever else pointing to address of your
: machine.
: The reason drop-down box maybe empty could be that you have a firewall or
: anti-virus installed on your computer and configured not to allow programs
: on your computer to send net broadcasts and then scan network addresses
: and ports

: Anyway, if it doesn't work, how then did you get to the triggers part?

: 2. To pick tables from a different database use Database drop-down box
: available on the DB Audit toolbar (just below the menu bar).

Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:24 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Re: DB Audit / No databases to choose Reply with quote

Thanks for the status update

: We found the issue was with sp_helpdb.
: If you ensure all the DB owners are correct the issue
: should be resolved without having to re install SQL

: Cheers

: /***********

Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:54 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » DB Audit, DB Mail, DB Tools All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.