SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Two empty lines when exporting data to file

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
Two empty lines when exporting data to file
Author Message
pvdm



Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Country: New Zealand

Post Two empty lines when exporting data to file Reply with quote
Hi, when using the "export to" under Import/Export I get two empty lines ( only CRLF) above the first row of data. Interestingly it does not happen on the adventure-works database but does happen on any other database I have on my dev PC, even the system DB's I have tried a few different options like including column headers, changing the encoding and changing the output format. Any ideas on how to stop this from happening?
Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:47 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6749

Post Reply with quote
Which SQL Assistant version are you running?
Which driver type is used for the database connections
Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:08 am View user's profile Send private message
pvdm



Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Country: New Zealand

Post Reply with quote
I use 9.5.469, with the ADO.NET driver for SQL server
Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6749

Post Reply with quote
Is the database collation the same if AdventureWorks and your other database? Is the result the same for different file types?
Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:13 pm View user's profile Send private message
pvdm



Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Country: New Zealand

Post Reply with quote
The collation is different, SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS for AdventureWorks and Latin1_General_CI_AS for everything else. I tried CSV and tab delimited with the same result.
Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:58 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6749

Post Reply with quote
Sorry, I think I have run into my limits and didn't know what else to check. I would need to ask for help here.
Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:35 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6749

Post Reply with quote
I was told this a known issue, an undesired side effect of previously using Data Transfer tool with some specific options. That issue has been fixed in version 10.
Fri Aug 24, 2018 2:07 pm View user's profile Send private message
pvdm



Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Country: New Zealand

Post Reply with quote
Cool thanks I will give it a try.
Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:44 pm View user's profile Send private message
pvdm



Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Country: New Zealand

Post Reply with quote
Ok V10 seems to do the trick, thanks.
Sun Aug 26, 2018 10:37 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.