SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
[9.5.444 Pro] - Management Studio - New toolbar

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
[9.5.444 Pro] - Management Studio - New toolbar
Author Message
sqltogo



Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 33
Country: Netherlands

Post [9.5.444 Pro] - Management Studio - New toolbar Reply with quote
I was looking into the new feature for the SQL Assistance toolbar in MS Management Studio.
The toolbar shows no visible items. I can add extra from within Management Studio and those extras show up.
I tried resetting the toolbar using SQL Assistance Options, but no luck.
Any help on how the make this work is greatly appreciated.
Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:36 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
The toolbar isn't supposed to be empty. Can you please attach a screenshot of your SSMS with the query tab open?
Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:05 pm View user's profile Send private message
sqltogo



Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 33
Country: Netherlands

Post Reply with quote
I have added three screenshots.
In my system SSMS 2016 is also installed, this gives the same behavior.





Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:00 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
I would recommend trying full reset.
In SQL Assistant's Options dialog, select MS Management Studio target
Expand Toolbar options
Set Visible to No
Note that normally the Select SQL Assistant Feature box should be empty. This box is for additional customizations
Click the apply button.
Click Import/Export button in the left bottom corner and then select to load Default Options
Import Default Options
Click the Apply button again
Restart SQL Server Management Studio
Open Query tab

Do you see the toolbar?
Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:56 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
Here is how the toolbar should appear with default settings. I used SSMS 2016 to capture the screenshot, In SSMS 2017 it should be very similar.



Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:05 am View user's profile Send private message
sqltogo



Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 33
Country: Netherlands

Post Reply with quote
This procedure works fine, the toolbar now shows all the buttons.
Probably something between my old custom settings and the new options.
I only have to set my custom adjustments manually again, but that is absolutely no problem at all.
Thanks very much and have a Happy New Year.
Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:05 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
Great. Thank you for confirming it worked and Happy New Year to you too.
Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:49 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Do you have a fix for this without me losing all my customization?
Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:25 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
Yes, of course. The customizations are never deleted, Every time an upgrade is installed a copy of the old settings file is saved in %APP_DATA%\SQL Assistant\[version here] folder. In most cases customizations should be imported into the new version automatically. If you see something missing, please use the Import/Export button in the Options dialog to import customizations from an archived settings file, but please be selective and choose only what you need. If you import the complete file, it may overwrite settings for new version features and render them useless. It's safe to import database connections, custom snippets, custom formatting rules, custom data-generator data libraries, custom functions and statements for SQL assistance, and other things that "add" new capabilities.
Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:47 am View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Well, what I really meant was "without having to Piece meal my customizations back in". Like just reset the SSMS Target options. But I tried that and it didn't seem to work.

I finally just did what you discussed.. though I'm sure I'll find little things I changed that didn't make it back in just yet.
Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:53 am View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 645
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
HUH. Well I had the new toolbar and it vanished again.......
Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:48 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6732

Post Reply with quote
Do you think it would be possible to reproduce the steps leading to toolbar disappearance?

Are you using multiple user accounts? Run as Administrator mode vs. regular? Remote Desktop? Any recent SSMS updates installed after computer restart?
Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:09 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.