SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
[SA 9.0.166 Pro] Syntax popup gets cut off with SPROC's

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
[SA 9.0.166 Pro] Syntax popup gets cut off with SPROC's
Author Message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 616
Country: United States

Post [SA 9.0.166 Pro] Syntax popup gets cut off with SPROC's Reply with quote


As you can see the popup help over the 'SELECT' is missing half of the bubble, also if you look down in the syntax checker the error at line 10, the message isn't entirely complete.. at the very least the missing end double quote is gone, if not the rest of the message.. which is probably inter connected with the bubble since they're probably showing the same message.

If I just change it to a simple error prone select statement and re-check the syntax the popup and error messages.

This same "problem" applies to functions, as I've just tested.
Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:39 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Can you please tell us if you are using ADO.NET or ODBC connection?
Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:12 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 616
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
Can you please tell us if you are using ADO.NET or ODBC connection?


ODBC, Driver={SQL Server}
Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:13 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 616
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
ADO seems to solve the issue though. That's odd.
Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:20 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
I was able to reproduce this issue with ODBC driver. It seems like ODBC driver returns two lines in the error message separated by NL character, while ADO.NET returns them separated by CR NL pair of characters. I will submit this one for further investigation because it's reproducible.
Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:27 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 616
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Thanks

I wonder why it only seems to occur inside functions or procedures while ad hoc statements give full error messages.
Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:34 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Mindflux wrote:
I wonder why it only seems to occur inside functions or procedures while ad hoc statements give full error messages.


Maybe, just maybe, add-hoc statements lead to single line in the actual error text, while errors inside procedures require a reference to procedure name in the first line followed by the syntax error in a separate line. Maybe ADO.NET reformats line breaks. I think we will know that soon.
Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:52 pm View user's profile Send private message
Mindflux



Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 616
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Good point.
Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:15 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Our developers had a look at this issue, reproduced it too, and classified it as a bug related to conversion of error messages from Unicode. They promised a fix will be in the next publicly released build expected early next week if it's ready.
Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:22 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.