SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
[9.0.151 BETA] Error after modification Snippets Options
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
[9.0.151 BETA] Error after modification Snippets Options
Author Message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post [9.0.151 BETA] Error after modification Snippets Options Reply with quote
Hi Team,

Some times after option modifications, I am getting this error:

---------------------------
SQL Assistant - Error
---------------------------
Context: Connect
Message: Login failed for user 'xxxxxx'.
server='172.18.60.41';uid='xxxxxx';Application Name='Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio';Pooling=false;Packet Size=4096;multipleactiveresultsets=false;Database="xxxx"
---------------------------
Aceptar
---------------------------
Wed Sep 28, 2016 6:16 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Reply with quote
Could you please let us know version of SQL Server Management Studio you are running?
Wed Sep 28, 2016 6:32 pm View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 Express

Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio 10.50.4042.0
Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC) 6.1.7601.17514
Microsoft MSXML 3.0 6.0
Microsoft Internet Explorer 9.11.9600.17843
Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0.50727.5485
Operating System 6.1.7601
Wed Sep 28, 2016 6:48 pm View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
I am testing the [9.0.152 BETA] version, but I am getting the same error.
Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:40 pm View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
When the error happens, my connections are lost and I need to reconnect again.
Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:55 pm View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
Additional to reconnect, I need to enter again to options because all the assistant functionality is lost even if I try to use SQL Assistant -> Connect
Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:03 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Reply with quote
I'm afraid this is caused by the SQL Assistant add-on not being loaded correctly. Please try the following:

Open SQL Assistant Options dialog.
Select MS Management Studio target on the Targets tab
Expand Advanced options on the right.
Set Register SQL Assistant Add-on option to No and click the Apply button.
Set Register SQL Assistant Add-on option back to Yes and click the Apply button again.

Please verify this solves the issue with connections. Connections are supposed to be shared when working with SQL Server Management Studio, you should not get separate login prompts or errors in SQL Assistant.
Thu Sep 29, 2016 12:21 am View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
:(

I am trying with your suggestion but I am getting the same error. I tried with MSSQL Management Studio 2014 in other machine but I still getting the same error.
Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:06 am View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
The workaround that I use is select the option Refresh Cache, (This last works like a Disconnect) and then I use Connect option.
Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:56 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Reply with quote
Something is incorrect there. If the add-on is loaded by SSMS correctly, then it shares all connections with SSMS, so there should be no separate connections and separate logins, and by virtue no login errors if connections are already open in SSMS.

However, if you open a file from disk that opens a new editor tab, the connection is not yet established for that editor in SSMS, and SQL Assistant attempts to restore last know connection associated with the file, that's when a login error can potentially occur if using SQL authentication by user/password or if the target server is not reachable.
Fri Sep 30, 2016 12:08 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Reply with quote
I've got further instructions from my team.

Please change target settings for MS Management Studio.
In Advanced settings change Auto Connection option to None, and also verify that Default Connection Type option is set to ADO.NET.
Fri Sep 30, 2016 11:36 am View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
At the end I had that uninstall completely the software and I had to delete the %appdata% folder and install again. It seems all is OK until now :)
Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:26 pm View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
Hi Team,

Finally I could find the error with this:

---------------------------
SQL Assistant - Error
---------------------------
Context: Connect
Message: Login failed for user 'xxxxxx'.
server='X.X.X.X';uid='xxxxxx';Application Name='Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio';Pooling=false;Packet Size=4096;multipleactiveresultsets=false;Database="xxxx"
---------------------------
Aceptar
---------------------------

This error always occurs when I haven't executed the SQL Assistant (SysTray Icon) before to open MSSQL Management Studio.

This behavior is new in this version, because in the previous one, I have always closed the SysTray Icon, without experimenting problems.
Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:57 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6506

Post Reply with quote
I believe this issue has been fixed in the latest build 9.0.157. It's related to login errors after opening files and restoring tabs. Please give it a try.
Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:29 am View user's profile Send private message
jairo.martinez



Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 31
Country: Mexico

Post Reply with quote
With the last beta all indicate that the error is gone :)
Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:14 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.