SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
[SA 9.0.0144 Pro BETA] - App interference [FIXED in 157]
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
[SA 9.0.0144 Pro BETA] - App interference [FIXED in 157]
Author Message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post [SA 9.0.0144 Pro BETA] - App interference [FIXED in 157] Reply with quote
SA interferes with some apps. As long as SA is sitting in the tray I'm unable to start some applications, eg. Notepad, Sublime Text 3, or Directory Opus, which is rather strange since it's not even a text editor, it's a file manager. The read of address varies but the access violation address remains the same for every app affected. Check screenshot:



It also kills running instances of these apps. As soon as I drop SA from systray everything goes back to normal.


Last edited by gemisigo on Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:04 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
Could you please email a copy of your SQLAssist.log file from %APPDATa%\SQL Assistant\9.0 folder to support? The log file may have important details that can help identity the cause of the issue.

While you can change the settings and exclude these applications eliminating the conflict, it would be better to identify the root cause and fix it.
Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:56 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
Could you please try the following.
Copy or export your current SQL Assistant settings file. Then use Import and load factory default settings. Does it still crash Notepad and other applications?
We need to check if the issue is related to some conflict between version 7.5 custom settings and the new 9.0 settings. This could also cause issues with snippet processing that you reported in a separate post.
Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:28 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post Reply with quote
Having the default loaded doesn't change much. Even opening the Save As dialog for exporting my settings drops the same exception (though SA doesn't crash itself). There's something to do with the stuff in the tray. Running the SQL Editor (with SA working in it natively) doesn't do any harm. I'm sending the log file in a couple of minutes.
Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:52 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
Thank you so much for the log file. It helped a lot.

Can you please let us know which operation system you are running?
Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:14 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post Reply with quote
Sure. It's a Win 10 Pro 64bit.

Any hints on what was happening there? Would modifying my settings help?
Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:51 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
We think the issue is specific to that particular platform. It appears to be a bug on our end but it only manifests on Windows 10 64-bit when running 64-bit applications.
Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post Reply with quote
I see. Well, these things happen :)

By the way, is auto update going work during the beta (it throws an exception, I'll posted it using the report dialog) or do we have to download and install updates manually?
Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:10 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
I'm not completely sure about the auto update working in the beta, I don't think it would work as in the release version.
Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:14 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
The issue with 64-bit applications should be fixed in 9.0.151. Please download the latest beta build, same link as before, and install it. You don't need to uninstall the current one.
Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:30 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post Reply with quote
Confirmed, thank you very much.
Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:21 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post Reply with quote
There's still some interference present. TortoiseGit for one is affected. SA running prevents TortoiseGit from displaying its windows for different actions (commit, settings, sync, etc.). The processes still start at the background, but the windows aren't there. As soon as I close SA from the systray, all goes back to normal.
Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:37 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
thank you for reporting it. Are there any other applications that show similar issues when SQL Assistant is running?
Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:40 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6509

Post Reply with quote
Are you running 32-bit or 64-bit version of TortoiseGit?
Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:42 am View user's profile Send private message
gemisigo



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 1401

Post Reply with quote
Only TortoiseGit so far. It's 64-bit version.
Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:19 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.