SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
7.1.246 and Toad for SQL Server 6.5
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
7.1.246 and Toad for SQL Server 6.5
Author Message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
No, we cannot reproduce it. Is 4.6 the only .NET version installed? Are you sure?

For latest toad versions you would need 4.0.xxxxxx; At least SQL Assistant requires that one, or SqlAsssit.Dex4.dll won't load, it's compiled for 4.0. You may want to get .NEt4 installedo n your system and try again.


Also, try changing "Environment Integration" for Toad in SQL Assistant options to "None." that will disable menu integration and the need to use SqlAsssit.Dex4.dll. Not an ideal case as you will use menu based access to SQL Assistant within Toad, but it will get you past the point of being able to use Toad code editors
Wed May 06, 2015 9:50 am View user's profile Send private message
13th



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Country: United Kingdom

Post Reply with quote
SysOp wrote:
Is 4.6 the only .NET version installed? Are you sure?
is the only one listed in installed programs (4.6 rc)
SysOp wrote:
For latest toad versions you would need 4.0.xxxxxx; At least SQL Assistant requires that one, or SqlAsssit.Dex4.dll won't load, it's compiled for 4.0. You may want to get .NEt4 installedo n your system and try again.
after uninstalling 4.6 and installing 4.0 => same error. installation of 4.6 replaces 4.0 => same error
SysOp wrote:
Also, try changing "Environment Integration" for Toad in SQL Assistant options to "None." that will disable menu integration and the need to use SqlAsssit.Dex4.dll. Not an ideal case as you will use menu based access to SQL Assistant within Toad, but it will get you past the point of being able to use Toad code editors
yes, it works, but yes it's not an ideal case )
Thu May 07, 2015 11:54 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
Thank you. We will continue looking into the .Net framework issue. It doesn't seem like a Toad issue, but rather some middleware kind of dependency.

If you wish you can enable the so called Command Icon option. It's the last on in the Advanced group, same place where you changed Environment Integration. This will provide you with a inplace shortcut to SQL Assistant menus.
Thu May 07, 2015 12:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
Vitaliy



Joined: 13 May 2015
Posts: 8
Country: Ukraine

Post Reply with quote
I've got the same error when I opened new editor window in Toad for SQL 6.1, 6.6 beta.
System: Win Vista x64, Framework 4.0 is installed.
Wed May 13, 2015 8:41 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
In the registry do you have the following keys?

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\9A73326A-05BB-4803-B4D9-D05CB5170D75
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\754CF073-05BD-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\754CF073-DECC-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE

If you do, please check the value in InprocServer32\RuntimeVersion. Do they all have 4.0.xxxx or 2.0.xxxxx values?
Thu May 14, 2015 1:19 am View user's profile Send private message
Vitaliy



Joined: 13 May 2015
Posts: 8
Country: Ukraine

Post Reply with quote
The key "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\9A73326A-05BB-4803-B4D9-D05CB5170D75" doesn't exist.
And these keys don't have subkeys "InprocServer32"
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\754CF073-05BD-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\754CF073-DECC-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE
Thu May 14, 2015 2:53 am View user's profile Send private message
13th



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Country: United Kingdom

Post Reply with quote
Vitaliy wrote:
The key "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\9A73326A-05BB-4803-B4D9-D05CB5170D75" doesn't exist.

+1

SysOp wrote:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\754CF073-05BD-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOt\CLSID\754CF073-DECC-4E97-880D-1D88D8D514BE

v2.0.50727
v2.0.50727
(currently .net 4.5.1 installed)
Thu May 14, 2015 4:50 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
I suggest to try rerunning full SQL Assistant setup in Run as Administrator mode. You don't need to uninstall anything, just run it on top of the existing installation. But please be sure to close SQL Assistant system tray app and all targets before running the setup. That should fix your registry settings.

Please let us know if this helps.
Thu May 14, 2015 9:28 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
Actually I've been told that rerunning setup isn't going to fix that. Here is what you need to do

Start regedit in Run as Administrator mode.
Delete key "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{CEA15C41-2B1E-4C2F-A328-AD1A638A9E38}",
Restart sqlassist.exe in Run as Administrator mode. That would make it automatically correct the registry entries.

Test it works with Toad now.
Thu May 14, 2015 11:45 am View user's profile Send private message
Vitaliy



Joined: 13 May 2015
Posts: 8
Country: Ukraine

Post Reply with quote
This doesn't help.
My account has admin rights and SA show message that it'll repair values but nothing changed.
Fri May 15, 2015 3:20 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
Please do not confuse "My account has admin rights" and "Run as Administrator" mode, these are 2 different things.

FYI, "My account has admin rights" is a thing of the past. In windows Vista and later all your processes run with minimal privilege regardless of your account security settings or group membership. The processes are allowed to make virtualized changes, but only virtualized. Any changes in registry or program files or windows system directories are wiped out silently by the system after you make them if you don't specifically use "Run as Administrator" mode.

Would you please follow my instructions as described and let me know if they resolve the issue for you?

Also, after you follow the steps, please start regedit 1 more time and verify that
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{CEA15C41-2B1E-4C2F-A328-AD1A638A9E38}\InprocServer32\Assembly valuie is "SqlAssist.Dex4, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
Fri May 15, 2015 9:49 am View user's profile Send private message
Vitaliy



Joined: 13 May 2015
Posts: 8
Country: Ukraine

Post Reply with quote
Yes, you are right, thanks. It resolves the problem.
Fri May 15, 2015 10:26 am View user's profile Send private message
13th



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Country: United Kingdom

Post Reply with quote
reinstall with adm.rights doesn't help in my case.
to fix the problem i've changed
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{CEA15C41-2B1E-4C2F-A328-AD1A638A9E38}\InprocServer32\Assembly
from
"SqlAssist.Dex, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
to
"SqlAssist.Dex4, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null"
Mon May 18, 2015 1:30 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6505

Post Reply with quote
Thank you for letting us know the described solution worked for you.
Tue May 19, 2015 10:14 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.