SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
job started twice

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite View previous topic
View next topic
job started twice
Author Message
owensjim



Joined: 08 Aug 2011
Posts: 49

Post job started twice Reply with quote
Running Version 5 build 375.

We encountered the following severe problem on 5-05-2012. The same Tol_5 Parse Upload job started twice within .01 seconds. We did not have any system outages at that time. Please let me know what I can do to prevent this from happening in the future.


5-May-2012 05:30:00 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Remote job started.
5-May-2012 05:30:00 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 479 FTP 2 Mqueue Filter Remote job started.
5-May-2012 05:30:01 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Remote job started.
5-May-2012 05:30:01 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Agent "Tol5" contacted.
5-May-2012 05:30:01 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 479 FTP 2 Mqueue Filter Agent "FTP2" contacted.
5-May-2012 05:30:01 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 479 FTP 2 Mqueue Filter Remote job started.
5-May-2012 05:30:02 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Agent "Tol5" contacted.
5-May-2012 05:30:02 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 479 FTP 2 Mqueue Filter Agent "FTP2" contacted.
5-May-2012 05:30:02 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 479 FTP 2 Mqueue Filter Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
5-May-2012 05:30:04 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 479 FTP 2 Mqueue Filter Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
5-May-2012 05:31:00 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 346 Tol_5 B2B FTP Driver Remote job started.
5-May-2012 05:31:00 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 346 Tol_5 B2B FTP Driver Agent "Tol5" contacted.
5-May-2012 05:31:01 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 346 Tol_5 B2B FTP Driver Remote job started.
5-May-2012 05:31:01 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 346 Tol_5 B2B FTP Driver Agent "Tol5" contacted.
5-May-2012 05:31:56 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 346 Tol_5 B2B FTP Driver Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
5-May-2012 05:31:56 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 346 Tol_5 B2B FTP Driver Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
5-May-2012 05:31:56 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
5-May-2012 05:31:56 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Job completed with exit code 0, exit code condition satisfied.
5-May-2012 05:31:57 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Finish message sent.
5-May-2012 05:31:58 AM 2 5ou5AYjUgNmragQXMn/7WhhcR5A= 192 Tol_5 Parse Upload Finish message sent.
Thu May 10, 2012 2:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
Is that job set to run in synchronous or asynchronous mode?
Thu May 10, 2012 3:08 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
From your other post, I suspect that you've got 2 instances of the scheduler running. Please check it out. If you find the second instance, you should shut it down ASAP.
To find running scheduler instances, look for processes having master.bat or master.sh in the process command line.
Thu May 10, 2012 3:11 pm View user's profile Send private message
owensjim



Joined: 08 Aug 2011
Posts: 49

Post Reply with quote
thank you so much for the quick response, we did indeed have two instances of scheduler running
Thu May 10, 2012 3:35 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
Good to know the root cause has been found quickly.

If'd like, you can have multiple scheduler instances running parallel on the same system, but in that case you would need to start them from different directories and have them read different job database files.
Thu May 10, 2012 3:50 pm View user's profile Send private message
owensjim



Joined: 08 Aug 2011
Posts: 49

Post Reply with quote
Another question regarding same topic. We had to kill the processes to shut them down. When we restarted the process, we get the message for the log file, reply to that, scheduler starts up. When we minimize the scheduler screen it disappears and the only way to get scheduler back is to stop the process, restart, and leave the screen maximized. Any suggestions for this condition?
Fri May 11, 2012 10:12 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
Sounds like you are running it in graphical mode. When you minimize the scheduler screen, it minimizes to the system tray as an icon (look for small red alarm clock icon in the system tray). To restore the screen, simply double click that icon, or right-click it and from popup menu choose Restore command.
Fri May 11, 2012 10:59 am View user's profile Send private message
owensjim



Joined: 08 Aug 2011
Posts: 49

Post Reply with quote
Yes, we are running in graphic mode. When i minimize it, the icon cannot be located in the system tray. I have to click on the clock in the upper right corner several times. Then perform a shutdown and restart scheduler. It is in the system tray after a restart. See attached screen. Once I select that icon or minimize it disappears. I had another co-worker check to make sure I was not missing anything.


Fri May 11, 2012 11:21 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
The attached screenshot is for the task bar, not system tray. Would you please attach screenshots of the upper right corner of the screen, when the scheduler window is not minimized and when it is minimized?


In general, Linux system tray should look similar on this one


The actual appearance of the system tray, its position on the screen, and icons may vary depending on the type of GUI chosen, such as KDE, XFCE, or GNOME or something else, their appearance is quite different.
Fri May 11, 2012 11:44 am View user's profile Send private message
owensjim



Joined: 08 Aug 2011
Posts: 49

Post Reply with quote


hopefully you can view this
Fri May 11, 2012 2:15 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
When you right-click the icon in top-bottom corner, do you get a popup menu? If yes, what's in the menu?
Any differences when the scheduler is minimized?
Fri May 11, 2012 2:49 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » 24x7 Scheduler, Event Server, Automation Suite All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.