SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Custom Codes snippets with macros not working in SSMS

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant View previous topic
View next topic
Custom Codes snippets with macros not working in SSMS
Author Message
judahr



Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 314
Country: United States

Post Custom Codes snippets with macros not working in SSMS Reply with quote
Created a T-SQL snippet named "insi" (also tried a bunch of other names). Ctrl-Enter, which works for other snippets, doesn't popup the list of objects. Instead I get a blank line inserted above the word "insi"

Code snippet:

INSERT $OBJECT$
(
$COLUMNS$
)
Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
Works for me.

Which version of SQL Assistant are you running?
Does it work in the Query Analyzer?
Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:52 pm View user's profile Send private message
judahr



Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 314
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
3.0.24

It works in new Query Analyzer instance opened since I added the snippet.
It works in new SSMS instance opened since I added the snippet.

Doesn't work in SSMS instance already open.
Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:53 pm View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6500

Post Reply with quote
That's because you configured SQL Assistant to install and load as SSMS plug-in. The plug-in is independent from the system tray application, it loads and unloads with SSMS and simply doesn't know about changes made using the system tray interface. To update the plug-in settings use the Options menu in the SQL Assistant menu in SSMS or just restart SSMS so the plug can pickup new settings.

I don't know if you realize that or not, but if you use the plug-in only, you don't need Windows to start SQL Assistant from the startup folder or start it up manually. SSMS loads the plug-in automatically whenever a new editor window is open. Yet, if you don't use the system tray, you will not be able to use SQL Assistant with other applications (except SSMS, VS, and Data Dude), and also you are going to miss the new error handling service, which will replace current error popups (if errors are enabled) and instead show non-interrupting error messages as system tray tips.
Thu Nov 29, 2007 9:30 pm View user's profile Send private message
judahr



Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 314
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
I didn't understand the add-in feature. That makes sense now. Thanks.
Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:05 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » SQL Assistant All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.